top of page

Union Brigade

During the American Civil War, the Union was a name used to refer to the federal government of the United States, which was supported by the twenty free states and five border slave states. 11 Southern states declared a secession to join together to form the Confederacy. Although the Union states included the Western states of California, Oregon, and (after October 31,1864) Nevada, as well as states generally considered to be part of the Midwest, the Union has been also often loosely referred to as "the North", both then and now.


Unit Commander

Col. Lonnie Cuff

bottom of page